Liverpool Under-19s Win 2015 Volksbank Cup In Germany

Liverpool Under-19s have been crowned Champions of the 2015 Volksbank Cup in Germany. Neil Critchley’s side beat Nurnberg 7-6 on penalties in the final after it end 1-1 in normal time. It sees the Reds win their first piece of silverware of the season after finishing fifth in last week’s Terborg Tournament.

The Reds were drawn in Group B off the tournament alongside German sides SV Werder Bremen and Borussia Monchengladbach as well as La Liga outfit Malaga. Liverpool started off their campaign against Werder Bremen as the Lavelsloh Stadium on Friday evening. Daniel Trickett-Smith netted the only goal of the game in a 1-0 victory to put the Reds temporarily top of the group.

They then faced a double header on Saturday afternoon as they completed their group matches. Firstly they faced Malaga at Stemwede-Wehdem stadium at 12:30pm local time. Sheyi Ojo was on target as Liverpool secured another 1-0 victory to keep their 100% record going in the tournament. The Reds would’ve been happy with the points after resting key players Sergi Canos and Cameron Brannagan, who both made late substitute appearances.
Just four hours later, they kicked off in the final group game against Borussia Monchengladbach. Trickett-Smith was again in the goals but his side suffered a 3-1 defeat. Despite going 1-0 in front, goals from Marcel Canadi, Nicolas Clasen and Dennis Eckert was enough for the German side who ended the Reds’ 100% record while picking up their first win in the process.

Despite the defeat, Liverpool topped Group B with 6 points, two points ahead of Gladbach. This meant they qualified for the semi-finals of the tournament and played the 2nd placed side in Group A for a place in the final. The team that finished second in Group A were fellow Premier League side Tottenham Hotspur.
Harry Wilson gave the Reds the lead in the first half before Sharon Harrison equalised in the second half. This meant the tie finished 1-1, and the game had to go to penalties. Lloyd Jones and Joe Maguire missed their penalties to put the Reds 3-1 down in the tie, but goals from Ojo, Brannagan, Wilson and a winning penalty from Alex O’Hanlon sealed the Reds progression.

Just hours after winning 5-4 on penalties, they faced Nurnberg in the final of the Volkbanks cup, and had similar luck from 12 yards. Sergi Canos gave the Reds the lead moments before half-time. Minutes after the interval, Jona Fries equalised and yet again, the tie ended 1-1 and it went to penalties. After Maguire again missed, Trickett-Smith; Ojo, Brannagan, Wilson, Kent and Dan Cleary then netted to put the Reds 7-6. Nurnberg player Kammerbauer missed the decisive penalty as Liverpool Under-19s were crowned champions of the 2015 Volksbank Cup.