Manchester United Football Club was formed in 1878, however they were called Newton Health LYR Football Club when formed. Just a little different from the great Manchester United name. The team first played games against different rail companies and departments. The club started in the first division in the 1892-93 season. It took the Newton Heath Football Club two seasons to get relegated.

In early 1902, the club was in debt (£2,670, which is equivalent to £250,000 in the modern day). Four businessmen invested in the club and after numerous named such as Manchester Central and Manchester Celtic, they decided on the name. Manchester United. This was to mark a fresh start.

Twelve years after Manchester United were relegated, they got back up to the first division. They won the first division two seasons later, which was the club’s first ever league title. They kicked off their 1908-1909 campaign with a win in their first ever Community Shield and then later that season they won the FA Cup, where they beat Bristol City 1-0 in front of 71,401 people. Manchester United moved to a new stadium in 1910, Old Trafford. The first season at Old Trafford, they won their second First Division title.

In 1922, Manchester United were relegated to the Second Division. It took them three years to get back up but unfortunately the club got relegated again years later – and achieved their lowest position in the Second Division ever (20th) in 1934. During the War, Old Trafford got heavily damaged by German bombs. It would take 1949 for the stadium to be in use again. Manchester United used Manchester City’s stadium until Old Trafford was ready.

October 1945. Manchester United appointed Matt Busby as manager. In Busby’s first football league season, he finished second in the league. They finished second four times in five years (1947, 1948, 1949, 1951). United saw some cup joy, winning the FA Cup in 1948. After United finished second for the fourth time, they won the league the season after. Their first major trophy since 1911. Smashing Arsenal 6-1 on the last day of the season, to end the 41 year wait for the league title. A memorable day for United fans.

On 5 February 1958, Manchester United played Red Star Belgrade and won 5-4 (On Agg). After refuelling in Munich on 6 February 1958, the United aeroplane crashed, killing twenty-two people – Mark Jones, David Pegg, Roger Byrne, Geoff Bent, Eddie Colman, Liam Whelan, Tommy Taylor, Walter Crickmer, Tom Curry, Bert Whalley, Duncan Edwards, Kenneth Rayment, Tom Cable, Alf Clarke, Donny Davies, George Follows, Tom Jackson, Archie Ledbrooke, Henry Rose, Frank Swift, Eric Thompson, Bela Miklos, Willie Satinoff. Rest In Peace. Gone but never Forgotten.

The team struggled after the disaster, winning one in their last 14 games after the disaster. In 1963, they beat Leicester City 3-1 to win the FA Cup. Busby changed the ‘Busby’s Babes’ name to ‘The Red Devils’, in 1970 the badge was redesigned (Similar to the one today). In 1963, Best made his debut and a season later he won the league with United.

Manchester United became the first ever English club to win the European Cup, beating Benfica 4-1. Charlton scored the opener, but Garcia equalised. It was 1-1 and extra time was needed to find a winner. United started strongly, scoring two in the first four minutes – Best and Kidd, he was 19 on that day, with the goal. Then Charlton finished them off in the 99th minute, bringing the European Cup to Manchester. Busby was knighted after the European Cup win.

Wilf McGuinness replaced Busby, his first season saw him finish a reasonable 8th place. However the season after saw them get beat by a mid table division three teamm Aston Villa. After this he got his old reserve team job back – he left Manchester United afterwards. Busby came back, and pulled them away from relegation and finished 8th. O’Farrell came in for Busby. United went on to win a few trophies in the next 15 years, including three FA Cup trophies and two charity shields.

A new era was coming, Ferguson was appointed on the 6th of November 1986. Alex Ferguson had a strong start to his first full season, finishing second in the league – however he finished 11th the following season. The well known 1990 FA Cup Final against Palace which saved Ferguson’s career is still talked about today.

After the 1989-1990 season, United got their hands on their first Cup Winners’ Cup and won the Super Cup against Red Star Belgrade. Manchester United won the first Premier League title (Was First Division till 1992), and won eight Premier League titles in ten seasons. During that ten year period, they won the FA Cup 3 times and the Champions League. Ferguson won United’s first ever double in 1994, and did it again another five times. Sir Alex also won “The Treble” (League, FA Cup and European Cup).

United won the Premier League five times in the years between 2007 – 2013. 2008 saw United win their third European Cup after beating Chelsea on penalties. Ferguson ended his career with a Premier League win, after he left it saw David Moyes step in. The former Everton manager didn’t last long, and Van Gaal replaced him as manager the season after. Van Gaal lost his first Premier League game, against Swansea. 37 more games to go.

Sir Alex Ferguson won the Premier League 13 times, the FA Cup 5 times, the League cup 4 times, the Community Shield ten times, the Champions League two times, the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup once, the Super Cup once, the Intercontinental Cup once and the FIFA Club World Cup once.